Nick Gilmartin's Weblog

And he used to be such a nice, quiet boy

Toyota to top the grid in Bahrain

leave a comment »


If you took the 2008 season, and at the last minute announced that the races would be ran in reverse, with every driver going backwards around the track, I think the results would look something like the 2009 season.

Thus far, this has been a year of raised eyebrows and compelling viewing.  Left for dead teams have driven to victory, middle ranking teams have had their maiden wins, and front running teams in continued dissarray.


The surprises just keep coming thick and fast with Toyota taking a maiden pole and second place on the grid.  This is just the tonic for a team that has worked so hard in the years since it arrived in 2002.

Actually it makes you wonder what would happen if Minardi were magically transported from the nineties to the present.  If they had a diffuser I am sure they would have gained a few points.

Hamilton is one of the most focused drivers on the grid

Hamilton is one of the most focused drivers on the grid

Lewis Hamilton starts fifth on the grid and is positive that he can make a podium finish.  No doubt this Wednesday’s hearing is at the back of his mind but he had incredible focus and a ruthless frame of mind.

Just ahead of him is this season’s leading racer, Jenson Button.  He feels that Brawn no longer has the technological advantage that it had for the first two races, still it was fun while it lasted.

Red Bull's rear diffuser, similar to the one on the Brawn F1 car

Red Bull's rear diffuser, similar to the one on the Brawn F1 car

But the grid for tomorrow’s Bahrain Grand Prix look like this:

 1. Trulli       Toyota
 2. Glock        Toyota
 3. Vettel       Red Bull-Renault
 4. Button       Brawn-Mercedes
 5. Hamilton     McLaren-Mercedes
 6. Barrichello  Brawn-Mercedes
 7. Alonso       Renault
 8. Massa        Ferrari
 9. Rosberg      Williams-Toyota
10. Raikkonen    Ferrari
11. Kovalainen   McLaren-Mercedes
12. Nakajima     Williams-Toyota
13. Kubica       BMW-Sauber
14. Heidfeld     BMW-Sauber
15. Piquet       Renault
16. Sutil        Force India-Mercedes
17. Buemi        Toro Rosso-Ferrari
18. Fisichella   Force India-Mercedes
19. Webber       Red Bull-Renault
20. Bourdais     Toro Rosso-Ferrari


Written by Nick Gilmartin

April 25, 2009 at 4:34 pm

Posted in Motorsport

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: