Nick Gilmartin's Weblog

And he used to be such a nice, quiet boy

Cannes: And it is Goodnight from me..

with one comment

Cannes logo

So while I was a few miles away in Monaco the Cannes film festival drew to a close.  The Palme d’Or was awarded to Michael Hanake for his film ‘The White Ribbon.”  Click play above.

Well I hate to admit I was wrong but I really thought the award would be coming home to Britain this year.  Frankly their choice of winner of the Palme d’Or defies sense.  I couldn’t think of a less entertaining film to download (sorry, go to pay to see).  I can’t help but think this was a reactionary vote, due to the swarthe of violent and horror entries for the prize.  So they thought they would teach us a lesson by voting the dullest film since ‘The History of Wet Paint’.

And here is another interesting fact:  The President of the Jury, Issabelle Huppart made her breakthrough film under the winning director.  Coincidence?  Ah, non.

And the rest of the prizes were not better, they all went to unwatchable movies.  Never mind, as long as Up, Inglorious Basterds, and Antichrist make it to the local multiplex I am happy.

It has been fun following the full two week carnival, even though I didn’t get there myself.  Ah well, maybe one day.

So I will leave you with the best the red carpet had to offer.  Enjoy.

Bar @ Stephanie

Photo by Sipa press/ Rex features

Photo by Sipa press/ Rex features

IG Premier

Eva Herzigova

Four Seasons Resort Cannes

Harrison and Boyd

Martini girl

Monica & Sophie

Paris Hilton

Simone Silva

She still has it

She still has it

Sophia's suite

See you there next year?

Written by Nick Gilmartin

May 26, 2009 at 6:52 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This info is worth еveryone’s attention. Нow can I find outt mοrе?

    baby books

    January 12, 2014 at 5:56 am


Leave a Reply

