Nick Gilmartin's Weblog

And he used to be such a nice, quiet boy

Can Nothing Stop Jenson Button Now?

leave a comment »

Brawn F1 celebrates in style

Brawn F1 celebrates in style

Now on his Sixth win it seems all Jenson has to do now is not screw up the rest of the season.  The ban on in-season testing means that no team can apply the lessons of recent races until next season, which is far too late.

So all he has to do now is not try to screw up.  After nine seasons on track I am sure he is more than capable of that.

The race started with Sebastian Vettel on pole, only to lose it on the ninth turn.  Rubens Barrachello had a bad start when his anti-stall kicked in, preventing him from achieving the take off he needed.  Further back Timo Glock ran wide and barely made it back on track near the back of the pack.

Rubens Barrachello found himself in a duel with Heikki Kovalinen.  First he overtook him on a bend, then Kovalinen used his KERS button to retake his lead over the Brazilian.  The two continued to duel for two more turns before a costly mistake by Barrachello sent him into a short spin.

Button skidded barely a few inches as he went into the pits and promptly changed his tyres.  He was on hard tyres all the way through the race but he brought four sets.  The F1 equivalent of Emelda Marcos.

Lewis Hamilton had an uneventful race and finished 13th.  He claimed he enjoyed the race and seems to be keeping to his strategy of keeping a low profile.

By the forty-eighth lap Rubens Barrachello retired from the race, enough was enough.

 1.  Button        Brawn GP-Mercedes     
 2.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault      
 3.  Vettel        Red Bull-Renault      
 4.  Trulli        Toyota                
 5.  Rosberg       Williams-Toyota       
 6.  Massa         Ferrari               
 7.  Kubica        BMW Sauber            
 8.  Glock         Toyota                
 9.  Raikkonen     Ferrari               
10.  Alonso        Renault               
11.  Heidfeld      BMW Sauber            
12.  Nakajima      Williams-Toyota       
13.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes      
14.  Kovalainen    McLaren-Mercedes      
15.  Buemi         Toro Rosso-Ferrari    
16.  Piquet        Renault               
17.  Sutil         Force India-Mercedes  
18.  Bourdais      Toro Rosso-Ferrari

In other news, the new F1 hopeful, Lightspeed F1, announced that they intend to use the name Team Lotus for 2010.  I have mixed feelings about this.  They have secured the services of the unredoubtable Mike Gascoyne, and a contract for Cosworth engines.  I am starting to think they may do well, and they have set themselves a high standard to live up to.  Nobody wants to see a repeat of the Jaguar episode when the Ford company made a half hearted attempt at glory, only to withdraw when it started to affect the balance sheets.

Coming to a rear view mirror near you soon

Coming to a rear view mirror near you soon

Team Lotus were one of the classic teams of the 60s and 70s, creating the legends of such luminaries as Jim Clark and Graham Hill.  Yes, they have a lot to live up to and I hope they can manage it.


Written by Nick Gilmartin

June 7, 2009 at 5:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: