Nick Gilmartin's Weblog

And he used to be such a nice, quiet boy

Lewis Hamilton is back!

leave a comment »

Lewis is back

You may remember this guy, young, gifted and black.  And until this weekend having a pretty bad season.  It wasn’t that anything dramatic had happened, compared to last year.  It was just a case of his car being hugely uncompetitive.

It wasn’t really a shock.  The record fine that the McLaren team incurred in 2007, coupled with the recession, meant research was limited.  The new car took some getting to grips with, it had terrible understeer.

But throughout the season McLaren have been studying the telemetry from the races, adding bits here, taking bits off.  They made the smallest adjustments and had the test drivers working overtime.  And finally it paid off.

Lewis had a little bit of luck as well, Renault’s Fernando Alonso lost a wheel after a pit stop, taking him out of the race.

Lewis and Nicole

And so it was that Lewis powered his way back to the podium, much to the squealing delight of his Pussycat Doll girlfriend.  Could he yet retain his title?  Difficult to say but I am sure the final race will be another cliffhanger.

Away from the track Renault was shocked to find itself banned for one race.  This was due to the flying wheel incident.  This punishment may seem harsh but let us not forget the recent death of Henry Surtees, and that of a marshal several years ago.  Both were the result of heavy wheels flying towards them at speed.

This is a safety issue that clearly needs a lot more looking at.

Felippe Massa is still in an induced coma, and his family and friends are at his bedside.  His condition remains serious but stable.  The spring penetrated his helmet and fractured his skull.  He was lucky it never penetrated his eye, it would have been instant death.

The next race is the European Grand Prix in Valencia, and there is some speculation that Fernando Alonso may fill the vacent seat at Ferrari.  F1 needs his to race in Spain again for PR purposes.  Ferrari needs his to try out his car for next year.  Everyone wins.  But I am sure the FIA will manage to stick their oar in somewhere.

So here are the results in full:

 1.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes      
 2.  Raikkonen     Ferrari               
 3.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault      
 4.  Rosberg       Williams-Toyota       
 5.  Kovalainen    McLaren-Mercedes      
 6.  Glock         Toyota                
 7.  Button        Brawn-Mercedes        
 8.  Trulli        Toyota                
 9.  Nakajima      Williams-Toyota       
10.  Barrichello   Brawn-Mercedes        
11.  Heidfeld      BMW Sauber            
12.  Piquet        Renault               
13.  Kubica        BMW Sauber            
14.  Fisichella    Force India-Mercedes  
15.  Alguersuari   Toro Rosso-Ferrari    
16.  Buemi         Toro Rosso-Ferrari


Written by Nick Gilmartin

July 26, 2009 at 8:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: